Dr. Collins and Yu Sleep: Who Created the Formula and What We Could Verify
The Yu Sleep sales page credits the formula to a team led by "Dr. Andrew Collins" with over 50 years of combined sleep research experience. It gives no license number, institution or published papers. We searched public records and research databases and could not confirm who he is. That does not prove anything either way, so here is exactly what we found.
Key takeaways
- The official offer page names Dr. Andrew Collins as the team lead. Other seller pages call Dr. Collins "CEO & Chief Scientist."
- No page we read lists a degree type, medical license, state, hospital, university or study.
- The brand's own August 2026 press release and its Better Business Bureau profile do not mention him.
- Andrew Collins is a common name. We found doctors and researchers who share it, but nothing that links any of them to Yu Sleep.
- We are not saying the person is invented. We are saying the claim is unverified.
- For a buying decision, the Supplement Facts label and the refund terms tell you more than the spokesperson does.
What the sales material says about Dr. Collins
We read the official offer page and several other seller pages on October 5, 2026. The claims fall into three groups.
- Official offer page. The formula is attributed to a team "led by Dr. Andrew Collins." The page says the team has more than 50 years of combined sleep research experience and that its members left pharmaceutical work to build a gentler product.
- Other seller pages. At least two pages describe Yu Sleep as developed by "Dr. Collins, CEO & Chief Scientist." Some marketing copy also uses phrases like "world-renowned sleep expert."
- Bonus guides. The digital bonuses that come with 3- and 6-bottle orders are credited to Dr. Collins, including a wind-down routine bundle and an e-book about sleep and aging.
Note the wording. "Over 50 years of combined experience" is a team total. Five people with ten years each would qualify. It says nothing about one person's career.
Now note what is missing. None of the pages we read says whether "Dr." means a medical doctor, a PhD or something else. None names a medical school, a state license, a hospital, a university or a research paper.
What we checked and what we found
Research databases
PubMed is the free index of medical research run by the US National Library of Medicine. A sleep researcher with decades of work would normally appear there. We searched for authors named Andrew Collins with papers on sleep, insomnia or circadian rhythm. The search returned a handful of papers by people with that name in other fields, such as children's pain care and stress-hormone studies in animals. None concerns a sleep supplement or mentions Yu Sleep.
Physician directories
There are licensed US physicians named Andrew Collins in several states and specialties, as you would expect with a common name. Nothing in their public profiles connects any of them to Yu Sleep, and the sales page gives no state, specialty or middle initial to narrow it down. Guessing would be unfair to those doctors, so we are not naming them.
The brand's own documents
In August 2026 the brand issued a press release through GlobeNewswire describing its ten-ingredient formula. It lists an address in Aurora, Colorado and a support email, but no formulator. The Better Business Bureau profile for Yu Sleep at the same address lists a customer service manager as the contact. It does not name Dr. Collins either.
What that adds up to
We could not verify that Dr. Andrew Collins is a licensed physician or a published sleep researcher. We also could not verify the opposite. He may be a real person with a non-medical doctorate or no public profile. The name may be a pen name, which is common in direct-response marketing. The sales page does not say, and we will not guess.
| Claim | Where it appears | Verified? |
|---|---|---|
| Formula created by a team led by Dr. Andrew Collins | Official offer page | Not verified. No credentials or affiliation given. |
| Over 50 years of combined sleep research experience | Official offer page | Not verified. Team members are not named. |
| Dr. Collins is CEO & Chief Scientist | Other seller pages | Not verified. Not stated in the brand's press release or BBB profile. |
| "World-renowned sleep expert" | Other seller pages | Not supported. No matching publications found on PubMed. |
| Published study on Yu Sleep | Not claimed on the official page | None exists that we could find. The finished formula has no clinical trial. |
| Ten-ingredient label with 0.9 mg melatonin | Label and August 2026 press release | Verified. The label is public. |
| 60-day money-back guarantee | Offer page and order form | Verified as a stated term. Processed by BuyGoods on the official offer. |
Why supplement sales pages often feature a doctor
A doctor's name borrows trust. People are more willing to try a sleep product if a physician seems to stand behind it, so many supplements sold through long video pages are built around a doctor's story.
The Federal Trade Commission has rules for this. Its Endorsement Guides say that when an ad presents someone as an expert, that person must really have the expertise claimed. Its guidance for health products adds that an expert endorser should have suitable qualifications, should have evaluated the product, and that money ties to the company must be disclosed.
Those rules apply to every supplement marketer. We are not saying Yu Sleep has broken them. The rules exist because the "doctor behind the formula" story is so widely used, and readers have a right to check it.
The same guidance makes one more point. Studies on single ingredients do not prove that a finished product works unless the product matches them in dose and form. Yu Sleep hides most of its doses in a proprietary blend, and a doctor's name cannot fill that gap.
How to check any doctor named in a supplement ad
These checks take about ten minutes and work for any product.
- Find the full name and degree. Look for a middle initial, a degree (MD, DO, PhD, PharmD, ND) and a state. If the page gives none, that is your first answer.
- Search the state medical board. The Federation of State Medical Boards runs a free lookup at docinfo.org. It shows license history, medical school and any board discipline.
- Search PubMed by author. Go to pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov and type the last name and first initial with the topic, such as "Collins A sleep." A real researcher leaves a trail of papers.
- Look for a life outside the ad. A clinic page or a university profile is a good sign. A name that appears only on sales pages is not.
- Check the disclosure. If the doctor is paid, owns the company or is a pen name, the page should say so clearly.
- Ask the seller. Email support and ask for the formulator's full name and credentials. Official contacts are on our customer service page.
Why the label and refund terms matter more
Suppose Dr. Collins is exactly who the page says. You would still need the same facts to decide. What goes into your body is on the Supplement Facts panel, and what protects your money is on the order form.
What the label tells you
- Melatonin 0.9 mg per 2 mL serving. That is a low, sensible dose.
- Vitamin B2 0.5 mg and vitamin B6 0.5 mg.
- A 637 mg proprietary blend of red tart cherry juice concentrate, magnesium glycinate, apigenin, lemon balm extract, 5-HTP, L-theanine and GABA. The amount of each is not disclosed.
- 5-HTP is in the blend, so people on antidepressants should talk to a prescriber first. See side effects and interactions.
Our ingredient guide covers what each one may do.
What the refund terms tell you
- The official offer has a 60-day money-back guarantee.
- Orders on the official offer are processed by BuyGoods, a US online retailer with its own order lookup and refund process. Some other seller pages check out through ClickBank.
- Prices are $69 per bottle for two, $59 for three and $49 for six. Details are on our price and refund page.
A third-party retailer gives you a second place to turn if a refund stalls. That protection is something you can verify.
Our view
We rate Yu Sleep's transparency lower than its formula for two reasons: the proprietary blend and the unverified formulator. Neither makes the product unsafe or the offer dishonest. If the brand publishes Dr. Collins's full credentials, we will update this page. For the wider picture, read is Yu Sleep legit and our audit of independent reviews on Trustpilot, BBB and Reddit.
Frequently asked questions
Who is Dr. Collins from Yu Sleep?
The official offer page names Dr. Andrew Collins as the leader of the team that created the formula. Other seller pages call him CEO and Chief Scientist. No page we read gives a degree type, license, institution or publication, and we could not confirm his identity from public records.
Is Dr. Andrew Collins a real doctor?
We do not know. Doctors and researchers with that name exist, but nothing we found links any of them to Yu Sleep. The sales page offers no detail that would allow a license check. The claim is unverified, not disproven.
Who created Yu Sleep?
According to the sales page, a team led by Dr. Andrew Collins with over 50 years of combined sleep research experience. The team members are not named, and the brand's August 2026 press release does not name a formulator.
Who makes Yu Sleep?
The product is sold under the Yu Sleep brand, with a contact address in Aurora, Colorado. The official offer checks out through BuyGoods, which acts as the retailer. We did not find a named manufacturing facility on the pages we read.
Does it matter if the doctor cannot be verified?
It matters for trust, not for what is in the bottle. Judge the product by its label, the missing dose details, the lack of a clinical trial on the finished formula, and the 60-day refund terms.
Sources
- Yu Sleep official offer page, accessed October 5, 2026. loveyusleep.com
- GlobeNewswire via Yahoo Finance. Yu Sleep Updates Its 2026 Official Offer: Ten-Ingredient Liquid Formula and 0.9 mg Melatonin Disclosure. August 4, 2026. finance.yahoo.com
- Better Business Bureau. Yu Sleep business profile, Aurora, CO, accessed October 5, 2026. bbb.org
- National Library of Medicine. PubMed author and topic search, run October 5, 2026. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Federal Trade Commission. 16 CFR Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. ftc.gov
- Federal Trade Commission. FTC's Endorsement Guides: What People Are Asking. ftc.gov
- Federal Trade Commission. Health Products Compliance Guidance. ftc.gov
- Federation of State Medical Boards. DocInfo physician license lookup. docinfo.org